Glyph – Chamber Orchestra Version



Instrumentation:  Solo viola, string orchestra, piano

Duration: 18:00


Violist Rosemary Glyde
Manhattan String Quartet
Norman Carey, piano
Merkin Hall
New York, NY

Program Note

Glyph, (2000) for solo viola, string orchestra, and piano is a re-orchestrated version of the original piece, commissioned by Rosemary Glyde for solo viola, string quartet and piano. A glyph is a figure carved in relief, and the title refers to the creative process of composition, the carving of sound in relief through time and on oneself. The four movements are titled Luminous, Flickering, Ecstatic, and Incandescent, all aspects of light. They refer to the shifting relationships that color the interactions of the solo viola, quartet and piano. The work is a mini-concerto, with a supportive rather than adversarial relationship between the solo viola and the other instruments. A lyrical opening movement is followed by a piquant second movement, an atmospheric third and a driving finale. The original version of Glyph was commissioned and premiered by violist Rosemary Glyde, to whom it is dedicated; it was composed during a residency at the Virginia Center for Creative Arts. The version for viola, string orchestra and piano was premiered by the San Jose Chamber Orchestra, with Emily Onderdonk on solo viola and Barbara Day Turner conducting.–JS

Glyph - Chamber Orchestra Version
Product Options
#OptionPriceDownloadFile Size
2Parts (solo vla, 3 vln, 3 vla, 3 vcl, 3 Cb$59.00
Shipping Rate: A
Order Glyph - Chamber Orchestra Version